Board of Directors //

The SCHC Board of Directors is an all-volunteer, 15-member body dedicated to improving access to high quality, affordable, local health care services for the communities of Seward and Moose Pass. More than 51% of our Directors are also patients of the Health Center.


Shane Hand – Chair

Susie Urbach – Vice Chair
Melody Jordan – Treasurer 
Margaret Anderson – Secretary 


Matt Cope

Deborah Green

Alan Haskins

Micheley Kowalski

Maranda McManus

Maya Moriarty

Steve Pautz

Ex-Officio Members

Robert Rang, Providence

Christine Sheehan, SeaView

Scott Meszaros, City of Seward

Sharyl Seese, City of Seward

Join the Board or a Committee //

Would you like to become part of this dynamic group? There are currently vacancies on the SCHC Board of Directors.  The Board meets on the fourth Thursday of each month at 5:30 pm.

You can serve on one of several committees whether you're a Board member or not.  Contact for meeting venue/Zoom information.

  • Community Outreach Committee

    • Provides oversight and support for SCHC outreach and marketing activities to the public, employers, and community partners.

    • Meets 12:00 pm on the 1st Thursday of each month via Zoom videoconference.

  • Quality Assurance (QA) Committee

    • Provides oversight of Quality Assurance & Improvement activities (e.g. credentialing and privileging, peer review, clinical policy review)

    • Meets 4:00 pm on the 1st Thursday of each month via Zoom videoconference.

  • Board Development Committee

    • Coordinates board member recruitment, new board member orientation efforts, ongoing board training, and self-evaluation.

    • Meets 11:00 am on the 2nd Tuesday of each month via Zoom videoconference.

  • Finance Committee

    • Monitors financial status and reporting; reviews annual budget; reviews financial policies.

    • Meets 12:00 pm on the 3rd Thursday of each month via Zoom videoconference.

  • Building Committee​​

    • SCHC is undertaking a clinic expansion project. This committee is responsible for overseeing all aspects of the project.  Committee includes representatives from the SCHC board, former SCHC board members, City of Seward, and Providence Seward Medical Center.

    • Meets 12:00 pm on the 3rd Tuesday of each month via Zoom videoconference.

For more information, contact Shane Hand, Board Chair, at 907-362-6032 or

Seward Community Health Center

417 First Avenue

PO Box 2895

Seward, Alaska 99664

Phone 907-224-2273​

Fax 907-224-8501

Monday - Friday        8:00 am - 6:00 pm

Saturday & Sunday   CLOSED

Holiday Closures



© 2020 Seward Community Health Center